Delhi, Mar 16: Joint Protest Demo against false implication of Maruti Workers

The rule of law has given a ‘class justice’ against this ‘class war’!

On 10th march 2017, the sessions court in Gurgaon gave the verdict on the maruti case that has been going on since 2012. In its verdict, the court convicted 31 workers under various charges of murder, attempt to murder, rioting, damage to private property etc. 117 workers among the 148 – who spent over 4 years in Jail – have been acquitted of all charges. With convictions and charges declared, the arguments for quantum of punishment will be held on 17 March in the Gurgaon Sessions Court. Of the convicted 31 workers, 13 – which includes the entire Maruti Suzuki Workers Union body – have been charged under various serious sections under the IPC, which include 302 (murder) and others. 18 workers among the 31 have been charged with various offences like rioting, grievous hurt, injury and so on.

An overview of the court proceedings will reveal that any evidence linking any worker to murder or setting fire could not be established in court throughout the arguments. It is clearly a politically motivated anti-worker judgment, not just against the struggle of the maruti workers, who fought for their Right to Unionise and against contractualisation, but this judgment is also a timely weapon against workers organizing across the industrial belts in the country. From Honda to Pricol to Maruti, there is a concerted effort by the ruling classes to criminalise workers and dominate with fear and repression those who are organizing for their rights!

Unions from various plants in the Gurgaon-Manesar-Dharuhera-Bawal belt have declared a food boycott on the 16th of march in solidarity with the workers in jail. It is in this context, various progressive organisations and individuals are calling for a protest demonstration against the wrongful conviction of Maruti workers.

16 March, 11AM at Haryana Bhawan

AICCTU, AIFTU (New), AISA, BASO, DISSC, DSF, DSU, ICTU, IFTU, IMK, JSM, KNS, KYS, Mazdoor Patrika, Morcha Patrika, PUDR, Sramik Sangram Committee, Mehnatkash Mahila Sangatan, NTUI and other individuals)


%d bloggers like this: